Home > Mechanics, News > Mechanics: Icon Relationships

Mechanics: Icon Relationships

The 13 Major Players, or Icons as I probably should call them because it’s way catchier, they’re a pretty important part of the setting, and that’s what 13th Age where I stole the system from which inspired me in a completely non-plagiaristic way called them. You’ll be working for or against them most of the time, unless it’s something personal, and even then they have a tendency to meddle.

But how does that work mechanically? Well it’s pretty simple.

You each start out with 3 relationship points that represent your character’s “footprint” in the galaxy so far. You can spend these points on each of the 12 known icons to gain either positive (+), negative (-) or conflicted (~) relationships with them. The form this takes is up to you – it might be a familiarity with their practices, they might be your sworn enemy, or you might have a troubled past with them and their followers. Whatever the case, you’ve got some experience with them.

An example might be a space pirate who occasionally raided The World Builder’s ships (-1), and frequently found herself in business with the Huntsman’s agents while doing so (+2).

Your relationship value determine the number of d6es you can roll to invoke it. You’re hoping for 5s (complicated success) or 6s (outright success).

With this established, you can start to use those relationships to your advantage. Our Pirate might be in a spot of trouble with some Whetstone-Tuatha mercenaries, and willing to make a deal with the Huntsman’s lackeys to throw her pursuers off her trail. So she’d roll 2d6 based on her relationship with the Huntsman. If a 5 turns up, the pirate might encounter one of his agents she previously antagonized, still sore about losing a contract. He’d give chase, only to run headlong into the people already pursuing her, allowing her to slip away in the confusion if she’s quick enough. If a 6 turns up however, things go a lot more smoothly – one of her fences agrees to let her hide out for a few days, for  a reasonable price. If both show up, well, maybe that price wasn’t so reasonable after all.

Of course,  if neither come up and the time is right – say she rolled snake eyes – it might be because something else happened entirely. There’s a chance one of the other icons did something unexpected, and she’d best hope it wasn’t the World Builder.

In other news:

Ranneko has completed a character sheet for Lachlan – a human thief seeking his true love and a fortune to go with her.

He’s travelled from his remote colony to Ferossa to attend the Touchdown Festival – the 50th anniversary of Ferrosa’s founding, and a momentous occasion for Whetstone-Tuatha. This event is significant enough that The World Builder himself – Lord Ceylon Tuatha will be in attendance. As a wise and powerful druid, people from all corners of the galaxy will be gathering to hopefully partake in his unique insight. The colony will be unusually crowded, but the chance to seek the council of Lord Tuatha and perhaps help himself to the guest’s valuables are too much to resist.*

*Unless he decides to change any of the above motivations or details.

That’s the scene as it’s set at the start of the campaign. You’ll all be aware of it, and it should help explain what you’re all doing at the time.

In order to better figure out relationships and motivations, I’ll be hosting a meeting in what I hope to be the session time slot within the Roll20 app, which should also help everyone get familiar with it before we play. I’m thinking 9am Sunday my time (GMT+12), which translates to:

  • 9am Sunday (GMT+12) – Me
  • 4pm Saturday (GMT-5) – Specktre
  • 7am Sunday (GMT+10) – Ranneko
  • 4pm Saturday (GMT-5) – Aldowyn
  • 11pm Saturday (GMT+2) – Jarenth
  • 4pm Saturday (GMT-5) – JPH
  • 3pm Saturday (GMT-6) – Krellen
  • 4pm Saturday (GMT-5) – Desgardes

Let me know if I’ve gotten any time zones wrong, failed to take into account Daylight Savings etc , but that’s probably the most reasonable set of times I can come up with. It’s still pushing it a bit, but we’ve got people right across the board here.

So let me know corrections, suggestions or questions in the comments.

Edit x2: Looks like time slot #2 won, it’s not perfect so we’ll probably have the meeting at least using those times.

Categories: Mechanics, News
  1. aldowyn
    September 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Yep I lied on the timezone. I think I’m the same as Specktre and JPH… Timezones confuse me, apparently.

  2. September 25, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    7 AM is a tad early, yes. I can make it, it’s not a problem in and by itself, but it *would* restrict my goings on on Saturday night a bit. Similarly, I could get up even earlier (I wake up at 5 AM on weekdays) but that would end my Saturday before it even begins.

    I’d suggest trying this time and seeing how it goes.

    • September 25, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      As long as you’re OK with it.
      Also, is the timezone I’ve got there accurate? or is DST in effect for you? If it is that might actually work out to be 8am.

  3. September 25, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    I’m already on a schedule where I routinely go to bed at around 3am.

    And since most of the US is currently in DST (I assume Spektre and Aldowyn don’t live in the non-DST areas of Indiana), times for JPH, Spektre, Aldowyn and I are all an hour later (so midnight for them, 11pm for me.)

    • September 25, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      See, DST is dumb and inconsistent. *sigh*

      So in other words me, JPH and Specktre are -5 and you are -6 now. Cause DST is dumb.

  4. September 25, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    My timezone is GMT+10 right now, will be GMT+11 in a couple of weeks due to DST.

    • September 25, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      Sorry, I was half asleep and just remembered you were 2 hours behind me. That’s the right time, but I’ve fixed the label.

  5. September 26, 2012 at 10:04 am

    11 PM Saturday works too. I cannot guarantee I’ll be able to make that every time, but it should be cool often.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

