Home > News > Progress

Progress

Quick update: Planning is going well – I’ve been doing a lot of worldbuilding stuff even outside discussing feathered dragonborn, but I’m leaving most of the story idea vague. I don’t like the idea of planning it in detail simply because I’ll inevitably have to change things up further down the line, but for now the ideas I have got seem solid enough.  Aside from that I’m mainly just going over the rules and making sure I know what the hell I’m doing here.

So far I’m very happy with the player turnout and want to thank everyone whose expressed interest in the campaign. I’s certainly very motivating knowing the audience I’m making this for because I think collectively we’ve written enough words on bad writing and RPG design to fill several books at this point so  mean to really put my money where my mouth is here. Hopefully I’ll be able to find a time that fits everyone in, – It might end up being evening for me, during the day for people in the US/Europe, because I’m pretty sure during the day for me, aside from early morning is like midnight over there or something.

Signups and character ideas that I know of so far are:

  • Jarenth
  • TheSpecktre (Swordmage?)
  • Krellen (Wizard)
  • JPH (Rogue)
  • Mumbles

With Ranneko and Desgardes expressing conditional interest.

If anyone’s stuck on character ideas, Fourth Edition has four main roles to fill – Leader, Defender, Striker and Controller. The ideas I listed above cover all the positions except leader, which might be nice to have. But that said, anything goes really – those ideas aren’t set in stone and people could end up playing completely different characters to what I’ve listed there.

Because this post is content light, so here’s my first draft for the Whetstone-Tuatha Alliance logo, which was rejected because I’ve got to have some standards here:

I wanted to make the caption “In space, nobody can hear you scream… except us” but that wouldn’t fit without shrinking the font size.

Their current logo is more fantasy, less Aliens, because unlike Weyland-Yutani, I like to think they actually have character traits beyond being stupid evil all the time. Of course, any more detail about their agenda/s would be telling.

Categories: News
  1. JPH
    August 10, 2012 at 9:29 am

    I guess rogue is striker? I assumed one necessary position was “dude who can pick locks and disable traps.”

    • August 10, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      Yeah, rogues count as strikers for their hit and run, glass cannon combat styles. You get in, do a lot of damage and get out, but you can’t necessarily take a lot of hits the way a defender can. A sorcerer would also be a striker because they can cast a lot of fireballs but they aren’t going to take a lot of punishment. A wizard meanwhile is a controller because they use their versatility to make the battle go how they want not so much through damage but through status effects and enchantments.

      It’s a cool system for easily assessing party balance, but it only really applies to combat roles.

  2. August 10, 2012 at 9:33 am

    My current character idea is a Dragonborn Cleric of Bahamut. That’s… as far as I got, I don’t have the books handy so I’ll have to acquire them somewhere.

    I remember the 4E roles a little bit, but I forgot what a Leader does, again.

    • August 10, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Leaders are tacticians and strategists who co-ordinate and buff their party members to try work more effectively together. So a cleric leads out of combat through diplomacy and insight, then in combat uses healing and blessings to help out party members.

      Dragonborn get natural bonuses to strength and charisma which should synergize well with a cleric’s key abilities – strength wisdom and charisma.

    • August 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      I have a -massive- D&D library on a flashdrive, but only a handful of 4E PHBs. Maybe I could email you a copy?

  3. August 10, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I’m kinda undecided. I was toying with the idea of Eladrin Swordmage, but now I can’t get the Jedi imagery out of my head (thanks Dan :P). I’m also considering just a straight-up Dwarf Fighter. So we’ll see.

    • August 10, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      I always forget how weird these WP emote faces look…

  4. August 11, 2012 at 4:06 am

    I’d have to look at the races and classes in 4E to decide, I haven’t played 4E at all.

    If it’s following clarke’s third law, that means science and magic are largely interchangeable, right? So could I make a sorcerer (or wizard would fit better) that’s kind of like a scientist? Just a though.

    Of course my first impulse is what else do can you tell us about the setting… what kind of racial tensions are there, what is the landscape like… how many planets are there, how convenient is space travel… shall I continue?

    • August 11, 2012 at 4:08 am

      Yes, pretty much. I’m writing a post now on how space travel works, so hopefully that should help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

